Austria and Wine

Austria and Wine

The history of Austrian winemaking dates back probably to 700 B.C. to the old Celts times. The real foundation of wine culture in Austria, however, was put by the Romans, at the beginning of A.D.

Austrian wine regions

Austria has four main wine regions: Niederösterreich, Burgenland, Steierland (Styria) and Wien (Vienna). These wine-growing regions are divided into several wine areas. E.g. the Niederösterreich region includes the Weinviertel, Wachau and Kamptal areas, the Burgenland region includes the Mittelburgenland, Neusiedlersee, Neusiedlersee-Hügelland and Südburgenland areas. However, the name of the whole region - Burgenland - is more often used here.


This website uses cookies. More info

Privacy confirmation *

Vstupujete na stránky s prodejem alkoholu.

Je Vám 18 a více let?

Potvrďte prosím svůj věk.